Skip to main content
All CollectionsAdmin Guide: Account Setup and ConfigurationRoles & Permissions Setup
Custom User Role Permissions - Everything you need to know.
Custom User Role Permissions - Everything you need to know.

Understand how user role permissions are designed in Quantive Results and use them to grant or restrict user access to specific features.

S
Written by Sonya Vrabcheva
Updated over a week ago

Overview

The user role permissions are the top layer of permissions that can be applied to user profiles in Quantive Results. To put it simply: you’re allowed to create a set of custom roles, grant specific permissions to these roles, and then assign roles to specific user groups. For example - you can have a custom role for “team managers” allowing them to “manage teams” and also have a custom role for “team members” allowing them to only “access employees, teams, and organization” without being able to manage them. With user role permissions you can ensure users of your account only have access to features they need - no more no less.

Where can you find the user role permissions?

In general, you’ll use the user role permissions when you’re either creating a new user role or when you’re editing an already existing user role - granting or removing permissions. Both can be found under the “Manage roles” section in the account settings.

image.png

Understand user role permissions

The below table maps out a detailed description of each permission together with any other permissions it may have a correlation with. Feel free to use this article as a cheat sheet anytime you need to remind yourself of the permission’s specifics. A few specifics about the user role and permissions table:

  • permissions are grouped into 4 main groups as per their relevance.

  • you need to keep in mind that the user role permissions are the top permissions layer in Quantive Results - individual permissions can be further narrowed/expanded by the - granular and ownership level permissions.

  • some permissions have existing correlations between each other - e.g. you’d need “Access OKRs” together with “Manage OKRs” in order to be able to access the Insightboards in Quantive Results - in these cases, you will see a blue hint notifying you about the correlation. Note that it is not mandatory to have the primary permission selected to create the user role - as user roles support stacking up - e.g. one user can have a set of user roles that build on top of each other granting additional permissions. Please see the screenshot below:

image.png

General Permissions

Title

Description

Permission correlation

Access OKRs

Allows users to view OKRs and sessions, but not own, create, edit, or update them. Users can also view and create OKR reports. This only applies to OKRs within sessions visible to the user.

n/a

Manage OKRs

Allows users to own, create, edit, update, and delete OKRs. This only applies to OKRs within sessions visible to the user.

Users will also need “Access OKRs” permissions.

Access private OKRs

Allow users to view private OKRs. This only applies to OKRs within sessions visible to the user.

Users will also need “Access OKRs” permissions.

Manage sessions

Allows users to create, edit, and delete sessions.

Users will also need “Access OKRs” permissions.

Create tags

Allow users to create tags. Only users with "Manage account setup" permissions will be able to edit, delete, and merge tags for the account.

n/a

Manage tasks

Allows users to own, assign, create, edit, and delete tasks.

n/a

Manage Whiteboards

Allows users to create, edit, and delete Whiteboards.

n/a

People Permissions

Access People

Allows users to view Employees, Teams, and Organization. Users can also create employee and team-based reports.

n/a

Manage teams

Allows users to create and edit teams, add and remove members and managers, activate and deactivate teams, delete teams, and manage team Check-ins.

Users will also need “Access People” permissions.

You can allow only particular actions to users using the additional options below.

Create and edit teams

Allows users to create and edit teams

Users will also need "Edit team details" and "Edit team members" permissions.

Edit team details

Allows users to edit teams details like name, avatar, description and custom fields.

Edit team members

Allows users to add and remove team members and managers

Activate and deactivate teams

Allows users to activate and deactivated teams

Delete teams

Allows users to delete teams.

Manage Check-ins

Allows users to enable, disable, schedule, and manage team Check-ins.

Manage Check-ins

Allows users to enable, disable, schedule, and manage team Check-ins.

Users will also need “Access People” and “Manage teams” permissions.

Award badges

Allows users to award badges. Badges will need to be approved by someone with “Manage badges” permissions.

Users will also need “Access People” permissions.

Manage badges

Allows users to create, edit, award, approve, reject, and delete badges.

Users will also need “Award badges” permissions.

Data Permissions

Access Insightboards

Allows users to access Insightboards. Users will only be able to edit, filter, and delete Insightboards if permissions are granted for a specific Insightboard.

n/a

Access Reports and Insightboard parameters

Allows users to filter Insightboards with data source-based parameters. Users will also be able to view Process, Performance, and Aggregated OKR reports.

Users will also need “Access Insightboards” permissions.

Manage data

Allows users to create, edit, and delete automations, data sources, Insights, Insightboards and their parameters. Users will also be able to automate Key Results and KPIs, as well as view Process, Performance, and Aggregated OKR reports.

Users will also need “Access Insightboards” permissions.

Access KPIs

Allows users to access KPIs, but not create, edit, update, or delete them.

n/a

Manage KPIs

Allows users to create, edit, update, and delete KPIs and KPI groups.

Users will also need “Access KPIs” permissions.

Account Permissions

Manage account setup

Allows users to view and edit settings related to the setup of the account.

n/a

Manage account notifications

Allows users to manage account-level notifications. Personal user notification settings can override these settings.

Users will also need “Manage account setup” permissions.

Manage users and roles

Allows users to invite, edit, activate, deactivate, and delete users. Users will also be able to create, edit, and delete user roles.

Users will also need “Manage account setup” permissions to assign new roles to users.

Manage apps

Allows users to add, manage and build apps through the Marketplace.

Users will also need “Manage account setup” permissions.

Manage API tokens

Allows users to view, create, and revoke API tokens on behalf of the interacting user. Only admins can manage tokens for all users.

Users will also need “Manage account setup” permissions.

Manage billing

Allows users to manage the account subscription and billing.

Users will also need “Manage account setup” permissions.

Conclusion

Finally when you’re done creating your new role or editing your existing role - don’t forget to click Save - and you’re good to go and assign this role to users.

Did this answer your question?